University of Bologna

Conference on Intelligent Computer Mathematics

CICM 2011

Bertinoro, Forli (ITALY), 18-23 July 2011
University of Bologna

Track B: Calculemus

Calculemus is a series of conferences dedicated to the integration of computer algebra systems (CAS) and systems for mechanised reasoning, the interactive theorem provers or proof assistants (PA) and the automated theorem provers (ATP). Currently, symbolic computation is divided into several (more or less) independent branches: traditional ones (e.g., computer algebra and mechanised reasoning) as well as newly emerging ones (on user interfaces, knowledge management, theory exploration, etc.) The main concern of the Calculemus community is to bring these developments together in order to facilitate the theory, design, and implementation of integrated systems for computer mathematics that will routinely be used by mathematicians, computer scientists and engineers in their every day business.

The topics of interest of Calculemus include but are not limited to:

  • Theorem proving in computer algebra (CAS)
  • Computer algebra in theorem proving (PA and ATP)
  • Case studies and applications that both involve computer algebra and mechanised reasoning
  • Representation of mathematics in computer algebra
  • Adding computational capabilities to PA and ATP
  • Formal methods requiring mixed computing and proving
  • Combining methods of symbolic computation and formal deduction
  • Mathematical computation in PA and ATP
  • Theory, design and implementation of interdisciplinary systems for computer mathematics
  • Theory exploration techniques
  • Input languages, programming languages, types and constraint languages, and modeling languages for mechanised mathematics systems (PA, CAS, and ATP).
  • Infrastructure for mathematical services

Calculemus Programme Committee

  • James Davenport (University of Bath) Chair
  • William Farmer (McMaster University, Canada) Chair
  • Thorsten Altenkirch (Nottingham University)
  • Serge Autexier (DFKI Bremen)
  • Christoph Benzmueller (Articulate Software)
  • Anna Bigatti (University of Genoa)
  • Herman Geuvers (Radboud University Nijmegen)
  • Deepak Kapur (University of New Mexico)
  • Cezary Kaliszyk (University of Tsukuba)
  • Assia Mahboubi (Ecole Polytechnique)
  • Francisco-Jesus Martin-Mateos(University of Seville)
  • Russell O'Connor (INRIA and McMaster University)
  • Grant Passmore (University of Cambridge and University of Edinburgh)
  • Silvio Ranise (Fondazione Bruno Kessler)
  • Alan Sexton (University of Birmingham)
  • Adam Strzebonski (Wolfram Research)